Close

Find topic

Can we en:form you? You can use our filter to find relevant topics. Alternatively our search function or the overview of articles can help you out.

Overview
Filter
Overview
Close

Search

Reset

Frequent requests

electrification emission trading energy storage energy transition innovation power stations RWE security of supply
Back to Overview
Germany ranks among the global industry leaders in two fields for renewables
The Renewables 2019 Global Status Report sheds some light on the state of renewable energy around the globe

Boasting 336 pages, 60 graphs and tables and 350 contributing experts, the recently published Renewables 2019 Global Status Report offers what is probably the most detailed overview of the state of the energy transition to date. In its report, the Renewable Energy Policy Network for the 21st Century (REN21) examines the use of renewables in the heat supply, transport and power generation sectors on a global level. The study takes a detailed look at a whole host of countries – from Albania to Zimbabwe.

From this proverbial flood of information, the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi) has summarised a number of important findings in a report (in German). The BMWi finds it particularly noteworthy that Germany has been numbered amongst the top three nations twice in the Renewables 2019 Global Status Report.

On the one hand, the Federal Republic, with its 113 gigawatts (GW), ranked third in the world in terms of electricity generation capacity in 2018. Only the People’s Republic of China at 404 GW and the US at 180 GW have more renewable capacity (important to note: This calculation does not take hydropower into account, so the figures differ considerably from other studies, e.g. the survey conducted by the International Energy Agency). According to the report, China therefore has more capacity than the European Union as a whole.

Germany has the third-largest renewable energy capacity in the world

Capacities of renewable energies in gigawatts (Source: BMWi; Database: Renewables 2019 Global Status Report, REN21)

On the other hand, Germany has been recognised as being the industry leader when it comes to renewable capacity per capita. In terms of figures, this means that 1.4 kilowatts (kW) is allotted to each German citizen, which leaves larger countries such as the US (0.6 kW) and China (0.3 kW) in the dust. Worldwide, the average is 0.2 kW. This means that no other country in the world has more wind turbines, PV installations and biogas plants per capita than the Federal Republic.

Germany is the leader in renewable capacities per inhabitant

Per capita comparison in kilowatts per inhabitant (Source: BMWi; Database: Renewables 2019 Global Status Report, REN21)

Germany is not the only country focussing increasingly on renewables. According to the report, more renewable energy capacity was installed in the electricity sector in 2018 even compared to fossil and nuclear combined. As such, a total of 100 GW of solar energy capacity was installed. However, the authors of the Renewables 2019 Global Status Report see room for improvement in other sectors: Renewable energy usage is still lacking in heating, cooling and transport applications.

Photo credits: Renewables 2019 Global Status Report, © REN21

Schreiben Sie dem Team des en:former Energieblogs eine Nachricht

Ask the en:former…

…and put a question to the editorial staff!

via e-mail place feedback
Feedback form







All fields marked with * are required.
Ask the en:former…

Ask the en:former…

…and put a question to the editorial staff!

via E-Mail Place Feedback

up:date

Subscribe to our monthly newsletter and stay en:formed.

sign in
Rate now Already rated
More about Power generation Energy transition

schließen

Thema finden

Dürfen wir Sie en:formieren? Nutzen Sie unsere Filterung, um für Sie relevante Themen zu finden. Alternativ unterstützen Sie bei Ihrer Suche nach Themen unsere Suchfunktion sowie die Artikelübersicht.

zur Übersicht
Inhalte filtern
zur Übersicht
schließen

Suche

alles zurücksetzen

Häufig gesuchte Begriffe

Energiewende Emissionshandel Innovationen Kraftwerke RWE Versorgungssicherheit Batteriespeicher Elektrifizierung
Zurück zur Übersicht
Deutschland belegt zwei Spitzenplätze weltweit bei Erneuerbaren
Der Bericht "Renewables 2019 Global Status Report" liefert einen globalen Überblick zu regenerativen Energien

336 Seiten, 60 Grafiken und Tabellen, 350 beteiligte Experten – der kürzlich veröffentliche „Renewables 2019 Global Status Report“ bietet den wohl ausführlichsten Überblick zum Stand der Energiewende weltweit. Mit dem Bericht untersucht das internationalen Netzwerk für Erneuerbare Energien REN21 (Renewable Energy Policy Network for the 21st Century) deren Einsatz in der Wärmeversorgung, im Verkehr und in der Stromerzeugung auf globaler Ebene. Die Studie geht dabei detailliert auf die Situation in einer Vielzahl von Ländern ein – von Albanien und Zimbabwe.

Aus dieser Flut an Informationen hat das Bundeswirtschaftsministerium (BMWi) einige wichtige Erkenntnisse in einer Meldung zusammengefasst. Besonders erwähnenswert findet das BMWi, dass der der „Renewables 2019 Global Status Report“ Deutschland gleich zwei Spitzenplätze bescheinigt.

Zum einen belegte Deutschland Platz drei im weltweiten Länder-Vergleich der Stromerzeugungskapazitäten mit 113 Gigawatt (GW) im Jahr 2018. Nur die Volksrepublik China mit 404 GW und die Vereinigten Staaten mit 180 GW verfügten über mehr Kapazitäten von Erneuerbaren Energien. (Wichtige Einordnung: Bei dieser Berechnung wird die Wasserkraft nicht berücksichtigt, die Zahlen weichen damit erheblich von anderen Untersuchungen beispielsweise der Internationalen Energie Agentur ab.) China besitzt demnach mehr Kapazitäten als die gesamte Europäische Union zusammen.

Deutschland verfügt über die drittgrößten Kapazitäten an Erneuerbaren

Kapazitäten Erneuerbarer Energien in Gigawatt (Quelle: BMWi; Datenbasis: Renewables 2019 Global Status Report, REN21)

Zum anderen ist Deutschland Spitzenreiter bei den Erneuerbaren-Kapazitäten pro Einwohner. Rechnerisch entfallen 1,4 Kilowatt (kW) auf jeden Bundesbürger, da können die großen Flächenstaaten USA (0,6 kW) und China (0,3 kW) nicht mithalten. Weltweit liegt das Verhältnis bei 0,2 kW. Das bedeutet im Bezug zur Bundesrepublik: In keinem anderen Land der Erde gibt es also mehr Windräder, PV-Anlagen und Biogasanlagen pro Kopf.

Deutschland ist Spitzenreiter bei erneuerbaren Kapazitäten pro Einwohner

Pro-Kopf-Vergleich in Kilowatt pro Einwohner (Quelle: BMWi; Datenbasis: Renewables 2019 Global Status Report, REN21)

Nicht nur in Deutschland, auch weltweit werden Erneuerbare immer wichtiger. Laut des Berichts wurden im Stromsektor im Jahr 2018 mehr Erneuerbare als fossile und nukleare Energieträger zusammen installiert, so kamen beispielsweise 100 GW Solarenergie dazu. Nachholbedarf sehen die Verfasser des Berichts „Renewables 2019 Global Status Report“ dagegen in anderen Sektoren: In den Bereiche Wärme, Kälte und Verkehr werden Erneuerbare Energien noch zu wenig genutzt.

Bildnachweis: Renewables 2019 Global Status Report, © REN21

Schreiben Sie dem Team des en:former Energieblogs eine Nachricht

Fragen an die Redaktion

Stellen Sie Ihre Frage an die Redaktion per ...

E-Mail Feedbackformular
Feedbackformular







Mit * gekennzeichnete Felder sind Pflichtfelder.
Fragen an die Redaktion

Fragen an die Redaktion

Stellen Sie Ihre Frage an die Redaktion per ...

E-Mail Feedbackformular

up:date

Abonnieren Sie den monatlichen en:former-Newsletter und bleiben Sie auf dem Laufenden.

zur Anmeldung
jetzt bewerten bereits bewertet
Mehr zu Stromerzeugung Energiewende